Congratulations to Dr. Jessica Tierney for receiving the prestigious Alan T. Waterman award!

April 22, 2022

The U.S. National Science Foundation has named its awardees for this year's Alan T. Waterman Award, the nation's highest honor for early-career scientists and engineers. Dr Jessica Tierney is one of three awardees this year. Congress established the Alan T. Waterman Award in August 1975 to mark the 25th Anniversary of the National Science Foundation and to honor its first Director. The annual award recognizes an outstanding young researcher in any field of science or engineering supported by the National Science Foundation. In addition to a medal, the awardee receives a grant of $1,000,000 over a five year period for scientific research or advanced study in the mathematical, physical, biological, engineering, social, or other sciences at the institution of the recipient's choice.  Anyone can be nominated for it, but in the almost 50 years of the award, a geoscientist has never won it. Also, it has never gone to a climate scientist. This is not only a first for Geosciences and Climate Science but for the University of Arizona as Dr Tierney is the first University of Arizona Researcher to receive such an honor. Congratulations Dr. Tierney!